Kashmir accountability commission members appointed

Srinagar, Sep 23 (IANS) Following recommendations by the selection committee, Jammu and Kashmir Governor N.N.Vohra on Wednesday nominated the chairperson and two members to the state accountability commission (SAC), an official statement said.

“Governor N.N. Vohra, in exercise of the powers vested in him under Section 4 of the Jammu and Kashmir Accountability Commission Act, 2002, has appointed Justice (retd.) Bashir Ahmed Khan as chairperson and Justice (retd.) J.P. Singh and Justice (retd.) B.A. Kirmani as members of the Jammu and Kashmir Accountability Commission for five years with effect from the date they assume charge of their office or until they attain the age of 75 years, whichever is earlier,” it said.

“The governor signed two separate warrants of appointments to this effect on the recommendations made by the selection committee, it said.

The SAC is empowered to look into complaints of corruption, misuse of office or issues of impropriety against political executives including state chief minister, ministers, heads of state legislature, legislators, advisors etc.

The SAC had remained defunct for the last two years because all its members had completed their term of office.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply