Kerala CPI still undecided on fielding two-time lawmakers

Views: 26

Thiruvananthapuram, March 11 (IANS) The CPI, the second-biggest party in the CPI-M-led LDF in Kerala, was on Friday still was unable to come to a final decision if they will stick to their earlier decision not to field legislators who have had two successive terms.

In the 2011 elections, the Communist Party of India (CPI) had contested 27 seats out of which they won 13, and seven of these legislators have now completed two successive terms.

In the morning, the party’s state executive decided to go with the decision that they took in 2011 but later the state committee, after its meeting, decided to ask their respective district committees to have one more look.

CPI state secretary Kannam Rajendran later told the media that they will now wait for the respective district committees to give a full-fledged report if they wish any of the existing legislators to be renominated to contest for a third term.

ALSO READ:   Delhi HC seeks ICMR response on plea to control monkey population

The final decision is expected to be made in the coming weeks as the date of poll is on May 16.

The Kollam district committee have already said with regards to the candidature of former state civil supplies Minister C.Divakaran, they are certain that he need not be given a third term, while they will deliberate on if K.Raju and former agriculture minister Mullakera Ratnakaran should contest again.

The others who are seeking a third term include E.S.Bijimol, V.S.Sunilkumar, K.Ajith and P.Thilothaman.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *