Kiwis win toss, opt to bat against India in World T20 opener

Views: 43

Nagpur (Maharashtra), Mar.15 (ANI): New Zealand have won the toss and elected to bat first in the opening World T20 match here at Vidarbha Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

India and New Zealand have been drawn alongside Australia, Pakistan and Bangladesh in Group B of the Super 10 round.

The Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led side, which recently clinched their sixth Asia Cup title, will head into the prestigious tournament as the number-one ranked side.

As far as Playing XI for India is concerned,fast bowler Mohammed Shami , who had been recovering from hamstring injury, failed to impress the selectors enough to be squeezed in ahead of Ashish Nehra.

So, the hosts are going into their first match with the same squad that had won them Asia Cup.

ALSO READ:   England drop Stoneman, recall Jennings for second Test

Meanwhile, New Zealand have left out their both pacers Trent Boult and Tim Southee.

India Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra.

New Zealand Playing XI: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (capt), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Mitchell Satner, Luke Ronchi (wk), Nathan McCullum, Ish Sodhi, Adan Milne. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *