La Liga 2016-17 season to start on August 21

Views: 28

Madrid, May 5 (IANS) The Spanish national professional football league, LFP announced on Thursday that the new La Liga season will start on August 21 next and end on May 21, next year.

The Copa del Rey final for the new season is scheduled by LFP to be held on May 28, 2017, while the Christmas break will mark the period between December 23, 2016 and January 2, 2017, reports Efe.

The current La Liga season started on August 21, 2016 and is scheduled to end on May 15.

Barcelona FC are currently leading the standings with 85 points, matching Atletico Madrid — however the Catalan giants have the advantage of head-to-head points.

Real Madrid hold the third place with 84 points.

ALSO READ:   Dani Pedrosa to leave Honda after 18 years



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *