Lao lawmakers elect president, PM

Views: 24

Vientiane, April 20 (IANS) The Laotian National Assembly on Wednesday elected Bounnhang Vorachit, General Secretary of the Lao People’s Revolutionary Party (LPRP), as president of the Southeast Asian nation.

The lawmakers also chose fellow LPRP politburo member Thongloun Sisoulith as prime minister and re-elected another politburo member Pany Yathotu as president of the national assembly at the first session of the eighth legislature, which kicked off in the Lao capital Vientiane.

Former deputy prime minister and education and sport minister Phankham Viphanvanh was elected vice president, while Bounthong Chitmany, Sonexay Siphandone and Somdy Duangdy were elevated to the post of deputy prime minister, Xinhua reported.

During the sitting, the 149-member assembly was due to discuss pertinent issues and consider proposed legislative agenda for the five-year term in addition to candidates to posts of People’s Supreme Prosecutor and President of the People’s Supreme Court.

ALSO READ:   Ex-journalist elected Australia's new Deputy PM

The eighth session will also approve the country’s development vision until 2030, development strategy until 2025, and the eighth five-year National Socio-Economic Development Plan (2016-2020) as well as an annual budget.

LPRP chief Vorachit was scheduled to address the legislature and give guidance to the new leadership before the conclusion of the session on Saturday.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *