Led by Dhirubhai Ambani, eight Padma awards for industry this year

Views: 37

New Delhi, Jan 25 (IANS) Eight people will be conferred Padma awards under the trade and industry category this year, led by late Dhirubhai Ambani, Indu Jain and Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry, the home ministry said on Monday.

According to a statement by the ministry, Ambani will be conferred Padma Vibhushan, the second-highest civilian award, followed by Indu Jain and Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry who will be conferred Padma Bhushan.

Among those who will get Padma Shri are Mahesh Sharma, Saurabh Srivastava, Dilip Sanghvi, Keki Hormusji Gharda and Ajaypal Singh Banga.

These awards are conferred by the president of India at ceremonial functions held at Rashtrapati Bhavan usually around March-April every year. This year, the president approved conferment of Padma awards to 112 people.

ALSO READ:   Delhi sees respite at 36 degrees
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *