LF names candidates for Tamluk, Monteshwar

Views: 37

Kolkata, Oct 18 (IANS) The Left Front will contest all the seats in the by-polls to two Lok Sabha and one assembly constituency in West Bengal in November.

Communist Party of India-Marxist nominee Mandira Panda will be in fray from Tamluk Lok Sabha seat, while the party’s Md. Osman Goni would battle it out for the Monteswar assembly constituency in the November 19 polls.

A Left Front statement said its constituent All India Forward Bloc would contest from the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat. The candidate would be named within a few days.

Suvendu Adhikari had won from Tamluk in the 2014 general elections, but vacated the seat after emerging victorious from Nandigram in the assembly polls earlier in 2016.

The death of lawmaker Sajal Panja necessitated the by-poll to Monteshwar constituency.

ALSO READ:   38% voting recorded in Nagaland

The Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat fell vacant due to the death of Trinamool MP Renuka Sinha.

The Trinamool announced its candidates for Tamluk and Monteshwar a day ago.

Dibyendu Adhikari will fight from Tamluk and Saikat Panja from Monteswar.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *