Lynn to lead Australia A in quadrangular one-day series

Views: 52

Melbourne, Aug 3 (IANS) Cricket Australia (CA) on Wednesday named middle-order batsman Chris Lynn as skipper of the upcoming quadrangular winter ‘A’ series, involving India A, South Africa A and the National Performance squad.

Australia A four-day squad captain Peter Handscomb has been named Lynn’s deputy in the squad of 15 players.

National selector Rod Marsh said the squad has struck a near-perfect balance between emerging talent and experienced players.

“Seven of the 15 players in the squad have been selected in varying formats for Australia, showing that this series can only add to their prospects of pushing for further selection,” Marsh said.

“Although we have also selected a squad with an eye towards the future, we have also rewarded the most recent domestic cricket performers and this is a perfect opportunity to showcase their talents against international opposition.”

ALSO READ:   Man United signs Brazilian midfielder Fred

He also praised Lynn’s captaincy skills, besides hailing Handscomb as one of the country’s “best up-and-coming leaders on the field”.

“(Chris) Lynn has shown in his time with Queensland and the Brisbane Heat that he can lead a team whilst also putting in high-quality performances with the bat and in the field,” Marsh said.

“(Peter) Handscomb led wonderfully in Australia A’s victory over South Africa A at Allan Border Field in the longer format and will benefit from having a leadership role in the one-day matches, he shapes as one of this country’s best up-and-coming leaders on the field.”

South Australia’s Alex Ross and Kane Richardson along with Tasmania’s Cameron Boyce were also named in the squad while Queensland’s Mitchell Swepson and Matthew Renshaw will join National Performance Squad for the series.

ALSO READ:   France to announce World Cup roster after Europa League final

Victoria’s Glenn Maxwell remains in place of left-arm spinner Jon Holland, who was recently called up for the Sri Lanka series as a replacement for Steve O’Keefe.

The one-day component of the quadrangular A series will be played in Townsville and Mackay and is a key element of CA’s commitment to take cricket to all parts of Australia.

The first match will be played on August 13 in Townsville.

Australia A one-day squad: Chris Lynn (Captain), Peter Handscomb (vice captain), Cameron Bancroft, Scott Boland, Cameron Boyce, Jake Lehmann, Glenn Maxwell, Joe Mennie, Kurtis Patterson, Kane Richardson, Alex Ross, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Tremain, Sam Whiteman, Dan Worrall.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *