Madhya Pradesh BJP sends 12 names for Rajya Sabha polls

Views: 41

Bhopal, May 26 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Madhya Pradesh on Thursday decided to forward a panel of 12 names for the Rajya Sabha polls to the central party leadership.

This was decided at a meeting of the party’s state election committee here.

State party leader Nandkumar Singh Chouhan said that during the meeting they brainstormed over the possible candidates and came up with the 12 names, which they have submitted to the BJP central leadership. The selected candidates’ names will be announced soon, he said.

Three Rajya Sabha members from the state are due to retire, including two from the BJP. Anil Madhav Dev and Chandan Mitra belong to BJP, while Vijaylakshmi Sadho is from the Congress. In the forthcoming elections, the BJP is slated to get two seats.

ALSO READ:   Maharashtra farmer suicide: Family refuses to take body till CM comes

Chouhan also said that the forthcoming state working committee meeting will be held on June 16 and 17 in Rewa.

Former chief minister Kailash Joshi, BJP National Vice President and state organisation incharge Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and BJP state organisation incharge Suhas Bhagat were present at the meeting.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *