Manipur CM reshuffles ministry, inducts three new faces

Views: 24

Imphal, April 12 (IANS) Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi reshuffled his ministry on Tuesday by inducting three new faces. Three senior ministers were dropped earlier.

Manipur Governor V. Sanmuganathan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-inducted ministers — Khetrimayum Biren, Manga Waiphei and R.D. Korungthang.

Earlier, forest minister Thoudam Debendra, rural development and panchayati raj minister Francis Ngajokpa and health minister Phungzathang Tonsing were dropped from the ministry.

The reshuffle is far short of the demands of the dissidents.

Political circles are keeping their fingers crossed over what the dissidents will do since their demands were not met.

The dissidents numbering 25 in the 48-member Congress Legislature Party had demanded the sacking of all 10 ministers leaving only Chief Minister Okram Ibobi and Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam.

ALSO READ:   Ghaziabad court puts up kiosk to know case details
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *