Minerva Punjab win I-League title

Views: 124

Panchkula, March 8 (IANS) Minerva Punjab FC beat Churchill Brothers FC 1-0 to win their maiden I-League title here on Thursday.

William Opoku Asiedu scored the decisive goal in the 15th minute and the Punjab-based outfit held on to the advantage till the end.

Minerva thus became the first team from Punjab to win the title since the 1996-97 season when now defunct JCT claimed the inaugural National Football League (NFL), which was later re-christened as the I-League.

Two-time champions Churchill Brothers, meanwhile, have been relegated.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *