MPs condemn Govt. for questioning ‘minority status’ of AMU, JMI

Views: 73

New Delhi, Jan. 22 (ANI): Members of Parliament from eight parties have issued a joint statement, condemning the Central Government’s questioning the minority status of Jamia Milia Islamia and Aligarh Muslim Universities.

“We strongly condemn, and express our displeasure and deep concern over the nasty move by the Central Government to strip off the minority status from Aligarh Muslim University and Jamia Milia Islamia,” said the statement.

Attorney General Mukul Rohatgi had recently advised the government that Jamia Milia Islamia is not a minority institution, as it was created by an Act of Parliament.

The statement also slammed Rohatgi’s remarks, and accused him of blatantly trying to outrage rich tradition of harmony in the nation.

“We, the Members of Parliament, believe that this sinister move to promote an unholy communal agenda and dilute the special character of these two premier seats of learning,” the statement further said.

ALSO READ:   Lok Sabha business advisory committee recommends time to discuss bills

The statement said these two institutions have made unparalleled contribution to the nation’s independence and society.

“We appeal to eminent intellectuals, civil society and all secular minded political parties to condemn this and expose the hidden agenda to sabotage the very idea of India,” it added.

Union social justice minister Thaawarchand Gehlot had earlier alleged that these universities were using their minority status to refuse constitutionally-mandated reservations to SCs, STs and OBCs.

The issue of restoration of minority character of AMU is at present pending with the Supreme Court but what has triggered off the protests is the Centre’s recent decision to reverse the UPA regime’s stand of supporting the university in the apex court on this issue.

The statement was signed by Janata Dal (United) leader KC Tyagi, Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Sukendu S Roy, Congress leader Pramod Tiwari, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader D.P. Tripathi, Communist Party of India (CPI) leader D. Raja, Rashtriya Janata Dal leader JP Yadav, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Bhagwant Mann and Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader Ritabrata Banerjee. (ANI)

ALSO READ:   Art elevates man from animal status: Vijayan

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *