Museum Reform: Ministry of Culture starts 14-point agenda

New Delhi, Dec. 27 (ANI): In an effort to bring qualitative changes in museums across the country to keep pace with the international developments in the field, the Ministry of Culture has initiated a 14-point agenda on Museum Reforms in 2009.

There are various national-level museums, namely National Museum (New Delhi), three wings of National Gallery of Modern Art (Delhi, Bengaluru, Mumbai), Indian Museum (Kolkata), Victoria Memorial Hall (Kolkata), Salarjung Museum (Hyderabad), 23 Science Centre under National Council of Science Museum (Kolkata) and Allahabad Museum (Allahabad), which are directly under the administrative control of the Ministry of Culture.

Besides, there are forty four site museums under the control of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI). These museums have a large collection of artefacts, paintings, sculptures, coins etc. Up-gradation and modernisation of these museums are taken up by the Government from time to time. These museums are in good condition.

Details of fund allocated for maintaining the above museums and the details of funds sanctioned for various other museums under the ‘Museum Grant Scheme’ is given below. (ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply