Myanmar to form new election commission

Views: 25

Nay Pyi Taw, March 28 (IANS) Myanmar’s parliament on Monday approved formation of a five-member new Union Election Commission to handle affairs of the next general election five years later.

Proposed by president-elect U Htin Kyaw, the new union election commission is headed by U Hla Thein, with U Aung Myint, U Soe Ye, U Tun Khin and U Hla Tint as members, Xinhua reported.

The last union election commission, chaired by U Tin Aye for the 2015 general election, was formed by U Thein Sein’s government.

In the presidential election after the general election on November 8, 2015, U Htin Kyaw of the National League for Democracy (NLD) won the presidency. He is the first civilian leader after more than 50 years of military rule.

He is also a close ally of Aung San Suu Kyi, whose NLD party swept to victory in historic elections in November.

ALSO READ:   Voluntary repatriation of Afghan refugees from Pakistan to resume

U Myint Swe of the military was elected as the first vice president and U Henry Van Thio of the NLD, the second vice president.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *