Nawazuddin and Tannishtha best actors at LIFFI festival

Views: 58
Siddiqui’s award-winning character portrayal in “Manjhi – The Mountain Man”

Nawazuddin Siddiqui and Tannishtha Chatterjee have been named Best Actors at the debut edition of the Lonavla International Film Festival India (LIFFI), where the Best Director honour went to Anant Mahadevan for “Rough Book”.

While Nawazuddin was lauded for bringing alive the struggle of real life hero Dashrath Manjhi in “Manjhi – The Mountain Man”, Tannishtha’s portrayal of a teacher with a difference in “Rough Book” won the LIFFI jury’s award.

Tannishtha shared the Best Actor (Female) Award with her National School of Drama senior Bhagirathi Bai Kadam who has delivered a powerfull performance in Assamese film “Scarecrow”.

Nawazuddin’s award was collected by “Manjhi – The Mountain Man” director Ketan Mehta.

Among the veterans who attended the festival were Govind Nihalani, Shyam Benegal, Naseeruddin Shah, Ratna Pathak Shah, Deepa Sahi Ketan Mehta, Anees Bazmee, Vivek Agnihotri, Tannishtha, Rajit Kapur , Dolly Thakore. and more.

ALSO READ:   Pulkit Samrat is in awe of 'Lust Stories' (Movie Snippets)

Mehta, who won a Special Jury Award for “Manjhi – The Mountain Man”, had three of his films showcased at the fest, including his much-talked about short film “Toba Tek Singh”.

“I feel I’ve just started… It’s been a great love affair with cinema, and I hope it lasts long,” said Mehta, whose “Rang Rasiya” won the Best Art Director for Nitin Chandrakant Desai and even won in the Best Cinematography category.

LIFFI has also instituted a Best Producer Award which went to Susanta Kumar Mahapatra’s “Pahada Ra Luha”. Its a project that was shot over a course of 25 years, featured non-actors and was also announced as the Best Film of LIFFI 2016.

Another award to have been launched was Best Ensemble Cast, which was bagged by Marathi road movie “Highway – Ek Selfie Aarpaar”, with actors like Huma Qureshi and Tisca Chopra in the frame. The film, by National Award winning filmmaker Umesh Kulkarni, also won Best Sound Design, Best Sound Design and Best Editor.

ALSO READ:   Asmita to play Yogita's best friend in show

The Best Music Director Award named after  late Khemchand Prakash, went to Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy for Marathi film “Katyar Kaljat Ghusali”.

Chennai-based Jayaprakash Radhakrishnan one the Best Debut Director Award  for his haunting drama “Lens”. He also won the Best Screenplay honour for the movie.

In the Best Supporting Actors category, Pallavi Joshi and Anupam Kher were awarded for “Buddha In A Traffic Jam”.

The Best Documentary went to “Indian Women on Records”; Best Short Film to “The Internet Affair” and Best Costume Design to Nachiket Barve for “Katyar Kaljat Ghusli”. – CINEWS

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *