NDA routs Congress in by-polls; setback for SP in UP

Views: 44

New Delhi, Feb. 16 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and allies registered a thumping victory today by bagging seven out of the 12 seats in the by-polls held across the nation.

The BJP won seats in Muzaffarnagar (Uttar Pradesh), Devdurga and Hebbal (both in Karnataka) and Maihar (Madhya Pradesh) while its allies Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) and Shiv Sena won from Khadoor Sahib (Punjab), Harlakhi (Bihar) and Palghar (Maharashtra) respectively.

The Congress, on the other hand, managed to win in just two seats – Deoband (UP) and Bidar (Karnataka).

In a major setback for the ruling Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP and Congress snatched one seat each from it in the by-polls for three assembly seats. Congress’ Mawaia Ali won the Deoband seat by a margin of 3,424 votes defeating his nearest rival Meena Rana of the SP.

ALSO READ:   Bengal rural poll violence, deaths far lesser than in past: DGP

In Karnataka, by-elections were held in Devadurga (ST), Bidar, Hebbal assembly constituencies. While the BJP won in Hebbal and Devadurga seats, the Congress emerged victorious in Bidar.

In Maihar Assembly constituency in Madhya Pradesh, BJP’s Narayan Tripathi won against his nearest Congress rival Manish Patel.

Following is the complete summary of by-poll results declared today:


Muzaffarnagar – Kapil Deo Agrawal (BJP)

Deoband – Mavia Ali (Congress)

Bikapur- Anand Sen Yadav (Samajwadi Party)


Devadurga – Shivana Gouda Naik (BJP)

Hebbal – Y.A. Narayanaswamy (BJP)

Bidar- Rahim Khan (Congress)

Narayankhed in Telangana – Bhupal Reddy (TRS)

Maihar in Madhya Pradesh – Narayan Tripathi (BJP)

Palghar (ST) in Maharashtra – Amit Ghoda (Shiv Sena)

Khadoor Sahib in Punjab – Ravinder Singh Brahmpura (SAD)

ALSO READ:   Nipah virus outbreak contained in Kerala: Minister

Harlakhi in Bihar – Sudhanshu Shekhar (RLSP)

Amarpur in Tripura – Parimal Debnath (CPI (M))(ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *