Nepal’s Oli expands cabinet, inducts 9 new ministers

Kathmandu, Oct 18 (IANS) Nepal’s Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli expanded his cabinet on Sunday by inducting nine new ministers.

President Ram Baran Yadav administered the oaths of office and secrecy to the new ministers at a function held at Presidential Office in Sheetal Niwas here, Xinhua reported.

According to the President’s Office, Unified Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) leader Top Bahadur Rayamajhi was appointed deputy prime minister and allocated charge of energy department, while Shakti Basnet, also of the UCPN (Maoist), was named minister for home affairs.

Giriraj Mani Pokharel (UCPN-Maoist) was given education while Agni Sapkota, also of the UCPN (Maoist), was named forest minister.

Umesh Yadav (CPN-UML) was allotted the irrigation ministry, Rekha Sharma (UCPN-Maoist) general administration and Ganesh Man Pun (also UCPN-Maoist) commerce and supplies.

Prime Minister Oli also inducted Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic (MJF-D) leader Ram Janam Chaudhary and Bahujan Samajwadi Party leader Biswendra Paswan as new ministers.

With the appointment of the nine ministers, the number of ministers in Oli’s cabinet has risen to 17.

This is the first government formed under the country’s new constitution.

–Indo-Asian News Serviice


Related Posts

Leave a Reply