New chief justices in Tripura, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan (Lead, Correcting name in intro, para five)

Views: 39

New Delhi/Agartala, May 11 (IANS) Justice Tinlianthang Vaiphei of the Gauhati High Court will be the new acting Chief Justice of the Tripura High Court.

He will replace Chief Justice Deepak Kumar Gupta, who has been transferred as Chief Justice of the Chhattisgarh High Court, an official said on Wednesday.

A statement from the union law ministry said Justice Navin Sinha, Chief Justice of the Chhattisgarh High Court, had been moved as Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court.

Justice Vaiphei, 60, will take charge on May 16.

Separate high courts were set up in Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya in 2013. Earlier the states were under the jurisdiction of the Gauhati High Court which was the common high court for all the northeastern states.

ALSO READ:   Tejpal to get copy of WhatsApp messages with victim

“Separate high courts are likely to be set up in Mizoram, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh after the construction of necessary infrastructure,” a ministry statement said.

The statement said Justice Ved Prakash Vaish of the Delhi High Court had been transferred to Meghalaya, while Justice Satish Kumar Agnihotri of the Madras High Court had been shifted to Sikkim.

The president has directed all the chief justices and judges to assume charge on or before May 23.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *