Not the first time that BJP has taken a U-turn: AAP

Views: 97

New Delhi, July 20 (IANS) Supporting the TDP’s demand for special status to Andhra Pradesh, AAP lawmaker Bhagwant Mann on Friday slammed the BJP, saying that this is not the first time that the Narendra Modi government has broken a promise.

“I am in support of TDP’s demand for special status to Andhra Pradesh, I want to say that this is not the first time that the BJP has taken a U-turn on its promise,” Mann said during the Lok Sabha debate on the no-confidence vote.

He also slammed the BJP of respecting all the states but treating Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal shabbily.

“Delhi’s elected CM waited in the Lt. Governor’s office for nine days but the LG did not even have nine minutes to meet him.

ALSO READ:   Counting of votes begin in Tripura

“Where the LG lives now, was once occupied by a Viceroy and I think, maybe, the Viceroy’s ghost has entered the LG’s body. Is this how a democracy works?” he said.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Lok Sabha MP hit out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi for disrespecting Punjab, whose people who have always sacrificed their lives for the country.

“Whenever the PM goes to any state, he wears that state’s traditional dress but when he came to Punjab, he did not wear the turban even for 90 seconds. This just shows how much he cares for minorities in the country,” he said.

He further slammed the Modi government for dividing the country by always preaching about Hindu-Muslim issues.

“Today, instead of discussing digital India and unemployment, the BJP is talking about Hindu-Muslim politics. This will divide the country,” Mann said, adding that BJP has not done anything about surging petrol and diesel price.

ALSO READ:   ALERT: Kohli wins toss, opts to bat first against Australia

“Bohut hui mehngai ki maar, ab ki baar Modi sarkar… this was their slogan but we all know how true it is. We can see the surge in petrol and diesel prices today,” he said.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *