Canindia News

Odisha CM inaugurates two power units of OPGC

Bhubaneswar, March 1 (IANS) Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday inaugurated the third and fourth units of state-owned Odisha Power Generation Corporation’s (OPGC) Ib Thermal Power Station in Jharsuguda district.

The two thermal units have been developed at an investment of Rs 15,000 crore. It is the largest thermal power generation plant in Odisha.

“The expansion project of OPGC’s 1,320 MW was inaugurated today. It will play a pivotal role in providing quality power to the people of Odisha for the next 25 years,” said the Chief Minister.

He informed that electricity connections have been delivered to the houses of one crore people in the state.

While the third and fourth units of Ib Thermal Power Station together will generate 1,320 MW, the first and second units have an installed capacity of 210 MW each, said sources.

The Chief Minister also inaugurated a coal mine at Manoharpur in Sundargarh district through video conference.

OPGC’s power plant will be supplied 8 million tonnes (MTs) of coal annually from the Manoharpur coal mines.




Odisha CM condoles Sushma Swaraj’s demise

Odisha invites fresh bids for 20 mines

Rohit, Dhawan power India to 358/9 vs Australia

CanIndia New Wire Service

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More