Om shoots double gold at KSS Memorial championship

Views: 109

New Delhi, June 20 (IANS) Gold Coast Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Om Prakash Mitharwal, representing the Army, edged 2010 CWG gold medallist Omkar Singh by just one point to clinch the gold in the 50 metre Free Pistol category of the 18th KSS Memorial Shooting Championship, here on Wednesday.

2012 Olympic gold medallist Vijay Kumar displayed his class, bagging two golds for Haryana in the 25m Center Fire Pistol individual and team event at the Dr. Karni Singh Shooting range here.

Omkar, serving in the Navy, stayed hot on Om Prakash’s heels to score 559 but the army man stayed calm when it mattered most to score 560 and took the first spot on the podium.

Another Army man Gurpal Singh, was also not far behind as he bagged the bronze with a score of 553.

ALSO READ:   Delhi opt to bowl vs Hyderabad in Eliminator (Toss)

The Army marksmanship unit comprising Om Prakash, Gurpal Singh and Jain Singh were in red hot form as they topped the charts with 1654 and annexed the gold in the 50m Free Pistol Team event.

Air Force’s Monu Tomar lead the charge as his teammates — Ravinder and Deepak Malik — aided in scoring 1641 and took the second spot. Dwindling with a score of 1626, the trio from Navy — Omkar Singh, Saurav Malik and Yogesh Singh — had to settle for a bronze.

In the 50m Pistol Junior category, Haryana’s Anmol Jain scored 552 to bag the gold while Surinder Singh settled for silver with 545. Delhi’s Suraj Bhambhani took the third spot on the podium with a score of 540.

ALSO READ:   'Indian space station can double up as eye in the sky'

In the 25m Center Fire Pistol (individual) category, Vijay Kumar (583) also had a heart in mouth moment before edging past 2010 CWG gold medallist Gurpreet Singh (582).

In third spot, BSF’s Mahinder Singh also scored 582 but had to settle for bronze on virtue of his shots during the final round.

The 10m Air Pistol women roster saw Abhidnya Patil of Maharashtra take the gold with 240.5 and left the former World No.1 Heena Sidhu biting the dust with a silver. Punjab’s Harveen Sarao claimed the third spot.

The junior category of the 10m Air Pistol event saw the lass from Abhidnya continue her momentum as she took her second gold of the day while SSB’s Yogita had to settle for silver. Haryana’s Nayani Bharadwaj eared the bronze for her exploits.

ALSO READ:   20 players to represent India at Jr. NBA Global C'ship



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *