Padma Bhushan has come at interval of my acting career, says Anupam Kher

Views: 22

New Delhi, Jan. 25 (ANI): Anupam Kher, who will be honoured with the nation’s second highest civilian award – the Padma Bhushan, this year for his contribution to Indian cinema, said the award has come to him at the interval of his acting career, and added that he has much more to achieve.

“I got this award at the interval of the span of my acting-life. Rest is still left. As said in Hindi movies, ‘Picture to abhi baaki hai mere dost’. I have a lot more to work and achieve more,” he said.

Speaking at the ninth edition of Jaipur Literature Festival, the 60-year-old actor said that responsibility towards his country encourages him to work better.

“Responsibility towards society, people, country, students and parents gives me the determination to do something more than just be an actor all my life,” he said.

ALSO READ:   Taiwan stages live-fire military drills

Evidently accepting the fact that “whenever you something good, you wait for some honour” the ‘Saransh’ actor said that he feels humbled to receive this award.

“I feel humbled, I feel honoured, I feel happy and ecstatic and I want to thank India for giving me this biggest award of my life,” he said.

In 2004, Anupam was honoured with the Padma Shri by the Government of India for his contribution to Indian cinema.

Kher made his acting debut in the 1982 Hindi movie ‘Aagman’. But he came into the limelight in 1984 with ‘Saaransh’, where the then 28-year-old actor played a retired middle class Maharashtrian man who has lost his son.

Other than appearing in hundreds of movies and several plays, the ‘Bend It Like Beckham’ actor held the post of chairman of Central Board of Film Certification and National School of Drama in India.

ALSO READ:   'Solo: A Star Wars Story': Alden Ehrenreich holds his stead as Han Solo (IANS Review, Rating: ***)

Other Padma Bhushan awardees this year include- Udit Narayan, Ram Sutar, Vinod Rai, Heisnam Kanhailal, Barjinder Singh Hamdard, Swami Tejomayananda, Professor N S Ramanuja Tatacharya and Professor D Nageshwar Reddy. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *