PM Modi to launch National Rurban mission in Chhattisgarh today

Views: 30

New Delhi, Feb. 21 (ANI): Prime Minister Narendra Modi will launch the Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee National Rurban Mission at Kurrubhath in Rajnandgaon district of Chhattisgarh today.

Four clusters of adjacent villages in Rajnandgaon, Dhamtari, Bastar and Kabirdham districts of the state will be developed in the first stage of the mission.

The National Rurban Mission intends to bridge the rural-urban divide by bringing civic and infrastructural amenities to clusters of villages across states evolving a new mantra for urbanization.

The mission would also help reduce migration of people towards the cities. The states would identify clusters of geographically adjacent Gram Panchayats with 25 to 50 thousand population in the plains and 5 to 15,000 in desert, hilly or tribal areas.

ALSO READ:   I&B Ministry floating tender for snooping software: Congress

The Prime Minister will also inaugurate the Jan Aushadhi Medical Store Scheme which includes setting up of 100 generic medicine stores in the state.

He will also lay the foundation stone for housing scheme and the electronic manufacturing cluster at Naya Raipur. Under the scheme, 40,000 houses would be constructed for families belonging to the economically weaker sections and lower income groups towards achieving the target of housing for all by 2022 under the Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana.

Later, the Prime Minister will address a farmer’s rally at Bargarh in Odisha. Union Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh, Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Tribal Affairs Minister Jual Oram will join the convention. The leaders will also interact with farmers highlighting the schemes initiated by the central government for their benefit.

ALSO READ:   Kolkata-Dhaka 'Maitree Express' to remain cancelled June 15-18

In the evening, Prime Minister Modi will visit Kolkata where he will inaugurate the three-year-long centenary celebrations of the Gaudiya Math and Mission at a function which will be held at the Netaji Indoor Stadium. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *