President selects 7 innovators to stay at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Views: 37

New Delhi, Feb 29 (IANS) President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday selected seven innovators for a two-week stay at Rashtrapati Bhavan under a Scholars-In-Residence programme starting from March 12.

The seven selected innovators are: G.K. Ratnakar (Karnataka) for his mini hydro turbine invention; Mushtaq Ahmed Dar (Jammu and Kashmir) for an innovative walnut cracker; Lal Biakzuala Ralte (Mizoram) for a bamboo splint-making machine; Mallesham Laxminarayana Chinthakindi (Andhra Pradesh) for “Laxmi” Asu-making machine; Amrut Lal Bawandas Agrawat (Gujarat) for developing an Aaruni Bullock Cart and Innovative Pulley; Anuradha Pal (Andhra Pradesh) for developing an antibiotic medicine; and Swapnanil Debajit Talukdar (Assam) for a foot-operated page-turning machine for the specially-abled.

The Innovation Scholars In-Residence Scheme was launched by the President on December 11, 2013 with a view to promoting the spirit of innovation and giving further impetus to grassroots innovation activities.

ALSO READ:   Polling officially ends in Karnataka Assembly election

The main objective of the Scheme is to provide an environment to grassroots innovators in Rashtrapati Bhavan to work on a project in hand and take their innovative ideas forward.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *