Rahul constitutes Steering Committee for Plenary Session

Views: 131

New Delhi, Feb 16 (IANS) Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Friday constituted a 34-member Steering Committee that will function in place of the Congress Working Committee for the party’s upcoming Plenary Session.

The session, which is likely to ratify Rahul Gandhi’s elevation as president of the party, may pave the way for the selection of the members of the new Working Committee of the party.

The meeting of the Steering Committee will be held on February 17 at 4 p.m. at the All India Congress Committee (AICC) headquarters. The schedule of the plenary session is likely to be discussed in the meeting.

“Rahul Gandhi has constituted a Steering Committee for the forthcoming Plenary Session as per Article XV (vii) (b) of the party Constitution. The Steering Committee will function in place of the Working Committee of the party,” said party General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi in a statement.

ALSO READ:   Rahul scared of losing Amethi Lok Sabha seat: BJP

The 34 members in the steering committee are Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh, A.K. Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ambika Soni, B.K. Hariprasad, C.P. Joshi, Digvijay Singh, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Hemo Prova Saikia, Janardan Dwivedi, Kamal Nath, Mohan Prakash, Motilal Vora, Mukul Wasnik, Sushila Tiriya, Mallikarjun Kharge, Ashok Gehlot, K.C. Venugopal, Avinash Pande, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Deepak Babaria, P.C. Chacko, Asha Kumari, A. Chella Kumar, R.P.N. Singh, P.L. Punia, R.C. Khuntai, Karan Singh, P. Chidambaram, Oscar Fernandes, Anand Sharma and Randeep Singh Surjewala.

Rahul Gandhi formally took over as the new Congress President assuming the mantle of the country’s oldest political party from his mother Sonia Gandhi on December 16, 2017.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *