Record number UK MPs to run London Marathon

Views: 44

London, April 12 (IANS) At least 16 members from the British Parliament will run in this year’s London Marathon, smashing all previous records for MPs’ entries, organisers said on Wednesday.

The previous record of nine MPs’ entry was set in 2014, Xinhua news agency quoted the organisers as saying.

The 16 include three women MPs — another record — including Scottish National Party MP Hannah Bardell, the first SNP member ever to run.

A total of 70 MPs have run the London Marathon since 1981.

The Conservative Party provides the majority of the running politicians with nine to Labour’s five, although in 70-year-old Kevin Barron Labour does boast the oldest and the first knighted MP to run. There are no Liberal Democrats in the run.

ALSO READ:   Mexicans ask Holy Child of Miracles for luck in FIFA World Cup

Matthew Parris holds the record as the fastest MP. His five London Marathon times (1981-85) are all faster than the next best, Doug Henderson.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *