Six elected unopposed to RS from TN

Views: 20

Chennai, June 3 (IANS) Four nominees of the ruling AIADMK for the Rajya Sabha and two of the opposition DMK were declared elected unopposed from Tamil Nadu on Friday at the end of deadline for withdrawal of nominations, an official statement here said.

Those declared elected to the Upper House are A. Navaneethakrishnan, S.R. Balasubramanian, R. Vaithilingam and A. Vijayakumar, all from AIADMK, and T.K.S. Elangovan and R.S. Bharathi, both from DMK, assembly secretariat’s Returning Officer and Secretary A.M.P. Jamaludeen said in a statement here.

Six sitting Rajya Sabha members from the state are set to retire on June 29, the statement said.

They are K.P. Ramalingam, S. Thangavelu (both from DMK), Navaneethakrishnan (re-elected), Paul Manoj Pandian and A. Wiliam Rabi Bernard (AIADMK) and Congress leader E.M. Sudarsana Natchiappan.

ALSO READ:   Cuba to expand internet despite US 'subversion': Minister



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *