Six writers return awards over delay in arrest of killers of noted scholar Kalburgi

Bengaluru, Oct. 3 (ANI): Six writers returned their Arulu Sahitya awards to the Kannada Sahitya Academy on Saturday over the delay in the arrest of the accused in the murder of eminent Kannada writer, scholar, rationalist and academic, M.M. Kalburgi.

“We will return the awards to the Kannada Sahitya Parishat president, Pundalik Halambi. Veteran writer Chandrashekhar Patil (Champa) has agreed to be with us on the occasion,” the six writers said in a release.

Veeranna Madiwalar, T Satish Javare Gowda, Sangamesh Menasinakai, Hanumanth Haligeri, Shridevi V Aloor and Chidanand Sali were awarded with the BMTC Aralu Sahitya awards on November 22, 2011, according to reports.

The Dharwad police had earlier released sketches of two suspected assassins of Kalburgi, but since then, no firm action has been taken. (ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply