SP wins 8 seats in UP Legislative Council polls

Views: 42

Lucknow, June 10 (IANS) , Despite cross voting, all eight candidates of the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) sailed through the Uttar Pradesh legislative council polls on Friday.

All three candidates of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) which is the main opposition party in the state assembly also won.

The Congress’ Deepak Singh, with the help of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), also managed to get through the winning line.

The victorious BSP candidates are Atar Singh Rao, Dinesh Chandra and Suresh Kashyap; while Balram Yadav, Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant Singh, Kamlesh Pathak, Ram Sunder Nishad, Jagjeevan and Ranvijay Singh of SP won on the first preference votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which had pitted two candidates instead of win being assured for just one, could not get its second candidate Daya Shanker Singh elected.

ALSO READ:   Amarinder flays Karnataka's 'RSS Governor', says subverted Constitution



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *