Stokes denies allegations of ‘wilfully’ obstructing the field in second England-Australia ODI

London, Sept.7 (ANI): England all rounder Ben Stokes has insisted that he did not deliberately lift his left hand to block the ball from hitting the stumps during the second ODI against Australia, which eventually led to his dismissal on grounds of obstruction during the field of play.

“I didn’t put my hand there wilfully, it was purely out of human reaction to protect myself. But the decision was made, there’s nothing I can do, but it wasn’t wilful whatsoever,” Stokes was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

Reacting to the incident, fast bowler Steven Finn urged his side to stop getting emotional and get on with winning the series.

The 26-year-old further said that it would be better for England to go out on the field and perform to the best of their ability rather than getting fired up on minor issues.

Stokes became the seventh player to be adjudged out for obstructing the field in the history of international cricket last week. (ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply