Sudan Rawat to be BSP candidate for Murad Nagar assembly seat

Views: 33

Ghaziabad, July 22 (IANS) The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Friday announced Sudan Rawat as its candidate for the Murad Nagar seat in next year’s Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

In a grand function organised here, Nasimuddin Siddiqui, the in-charge of Western Uttar Pradesh party affairs, announced that BSP Supremo Mayawati has cleared Rawat’s name for the Murad Nagar assembly seat in Ghaziabad district.

Rawat is well known for changing parties and losing elections. It will be his fifth attempt to win an election.

Rawat had in the past contested an MLC election on a Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) ticket. After he lost, he switched to the Samajwadi Party which fielded him in parliamentary and mayoral elections. He lost in both.

He then came close to the BSP which resulted in his expulsion from the Samajwadi Party for six years.

ALSO READ:   Modi to fast on April 12 against Parliament disruption

Rawat responded to his expulsion with the remark: “What has the Samajwadi Party given me except defeats.”

For the BSP, this is the third change in its candidate for the Murad Nagar assembly seat.

The party first named Satya Pal Chaudhary as the candidate for the same seat, only to replace him with Kavendra Chaudhary who in turn has given way to Rawat.

Satya Pal Chaudhary is known to be a grassroots politician, while Kavindra Chaudhary is a businessman and Sudan Rawat a wealthy realtor.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *