T.N. Ninan to get Mumbai Press Club’s lifetime achievement award

Views: 29

Mumbai, April 15 (IANS) Veteran journalist T.N. Ninan, the chairman and editorial director of the Business Standard Group, has been selected for this year’s RedInk Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism by the Mumbai Press Club, it was announced on Friday.

The coveted RedInk Journalist of The Year shall be given to NDTV India’s senior executive editor Ravish Kumar.

The awards, part of the RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism, will be presented at a function here on April 26 to be attended by Maharashtra Governor C.V. Rao and union Power and Coal Minister Piyush Goyal.

Ninan has been recognised for his “extensive contribution to business journalism through good editorial leadership” he provided over the years to a host of publications.

ALSO READ:   Goa opposition slams arrest over fake Facebook post

“In the face of challenging business conditions, he managed to revive and stabilize the Business Standard Group as an institution with high editorial standards,” said a Press Club statement.

Kumar has been recognized for his “consistent and down to earth reporting on politics and issues that concern the common man”, it added.

Besides these two flagship awards, the RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism will be given away in 10 other categories for meritorious work in print, television and digital formats including politics, crime, health, business, environment, human rights, science and innovations, entertainment and lifestyle, sports and photography.

This year’s award jury for various categories comprised former Bombay High Court judge, Justice B. N. Srikrishna, SBI chairperson Arundhati Bhattacharya, and journalists Sudheendra Kulkarni, Shobha De and Harsha Bhogle.

ALSO READ:   Visit Rohingya camps, check amenities, SC tells Haryana SDM

This year the theme was ‘To Rise Above It All’ for which around 1,500 entries and nominations were received, nearly double of 2015.

Some of the past recipients of the RedInk lifetime honours include the late Vinod Mehta, Kuldip Nayar, N. Ram, Mrinal Pande and Prannoy Roy.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *