Telangana speaker issues notice to five TDP members

Views: 19

Hyderabad, March 3 (IANS) Telangana assembly Speaker Madhusudhana Chary on Thursday issued notice to five legislators of the opposition TDP who defected to the ruling TRS recently.

He issued the notice on a letter by Telugu Desam Party (TDP) seeking their disqualification. They have been asked to submit their replies within a week.

E. Dayakar Rao, who was leader of TDP in the assembly, is among the legislators who were issued notice. The others are S. Rajender Reddy, Prakash Goud, K.P. Vivekananda and G. Sayanna.

Last month, all 10 TDP MLAs who have switched loyalties to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had sent a letter to the speaker seeking they be merged with the ruling party.

These legislators quit Chandrababu Naidu-led party at different times over the last one-and-half year.

ALSO READ:   Telangana signs technology partnership pact with Taoyuan

The TDP had won 15 seats in 119-member assembly in 2014 elections.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *