Ten ministers to take oath with Sonowal on Tuesday

Views: 29

Guwahati, May 23 (IANS) Ten ministers will be sworn-in along with Assam’s new Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal on Tuesday as Assam gets its first BJP government, sources said.

Although the Bharatiya Janata Party did not confirm the numbers, other sources said that while five members from the BJP will be sworn-in with Sonowal, there will be two each from alliance partners Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF).

BJP sources said that while the AGP has demanded the BJP to accommodate five of its legislators in the cabinet, the BPF had also requested for accommodation of four legislators.

“Our leaders are still working on a consensus formula to convince the alliance partners,” said a senior BJP leader while adding that the new cabinet will have proper representation from all.

ALSO READ:   Karnataka polls: BJP lost 4 out of 5 closest-fought seats

While the BJP had won 60 assembly seats on its own, the AGP and BPF had won 14 and 12 seats respectively, taking the alliance’s strength to 86 in the 126-member house.

Meanwhile, the whole Guwhati city was literally turned into a security fortress for the oath taking ceremony at the Veterinary College on Tuesday, which will be attended by over 100 VVIPs including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, chief ministers of NDA-ruled states and northeastern states, yoga Guru Baba Ramdev, Art of Living founder Sri Sri Ravi Shankar and several other union ministers and veteran BJP leaders.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *