Three teams chosen winners of ‘Ericsson Innovation Awards India 2016’

Views: 30

New Delhi, April 23 (IANS) Three teams from the Birla Institute of Technology and Science (Bits) Pilani, the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Bombay and IIT-Varanasi were on Friday chosen as winners of the second edition of “Ericsson Innovation Awards India” here.

The awards were presented by Paolo Colella, head (India region) of the Swedish communication technology firm Ericsson in association with the Foundation for Innovation and Technology Transfer (FITT), an industry interface organisation of IIT-Delhi.

The winning teams will receive Rs.13 lakh each towards incubating the winning projects at any IIT-approved technology business incubators.

“At the forefront of innovation in its history of 140 years, Ericsson wish to identify innovators of tomorrow and help them shape the solutions that will further define the networked society,” Colella said in a statement.

ALSO READ:   Emraan Hashmi, Kunal Deshmukh to work on new project

“Ericsson Innovation Awards India” were initiated in 2014 to promote the spirit of innovation within engineering students at select IITs.

In its second year, the awards were rolled out to IITs, IISc Bangalore, BITS Pilani, and Banaras Hindu University (BHU), among others.

The projects were submitted by students in areas such as web design, cloud computing, storage and networking, human-machine interface, embedded and hardware system design, Internet of Things (IoT), graphics and visualisation as well as research.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *