Trinamool wins first seat in West Bengal

Views: 29

Kolkata, May 19 (IANS) The first results of the West Bengal assembly polls on Thursday went in favour of the Trinamool Congress as the ruling party steadily marched towards a brute majority, leading in as many as 212 of the total 294 seats.

Trinamool nominee Nayna Bandyopadhyay retained Chowrangee constituency, defeating her nearest rival Somen Mitra of the Congress by over 13,000 votes.

The other winner declared so far is also from Trinamool, as Shashi Panja successfully defended Shyampukur constituency, defeating Piyali Pal of the All India Forward Bloc by over 13,000 votes.



ALSO READ:   Three Nigerians found dead in Delhi flat
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *