Tripura tribal autonomous body by-poll on Tuesday

Agartala, Aug 22 (IANS) The by-poll to a seat under Tripura’s lone tribal autonomous body would be held on Tuesday with the ruling CPI-M making all efforts to take on a tribal party backed by the BJP and Trinamool Congress.

In all, 22,481 voters — over 90 per cent of them tribals — would cast their votes to elect their representative in western Tripura’s Simna-Tamakari constituency under the Tripura Tribal Areas Autononmous District Council (TTAADC).

According to an official of the state election commission, women voters at 11,250 outnumbered the men (11,231) in the reserved seat.

West Tripura District Magistrate Milind Ramteke told IANS: “Security measures have been taken to conduct the by-elections peacefully. A prohibitory order under section 144 of the CrPC has been imposed in the poll bound areas.”

Seven candidates are contesting the by-election, which was necessitated following the death of Communist Party of India-Marxist member Ranabir Debbarma earlier this year.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Trinamool Congress supported the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) candidate Mangal Debbarma though the BJP had earlier put up candidate for the seat.

The main contest would be between CPI-M’s Kumudh Debbarma and IPFT’s Mangal Debbarma.

The IPFT, demanding a separate state carving out of Tripura by upgrading the TTAADC, became a major tribal party over the years and organised several agitations in Tripura and New Delhi in support of their demand.

The ruling Left Front, which has substantial base among the tribals and non-tribals, is now governing the TTAADC, which was formed by amending the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution in 1985 to boost socio-economic positions of the tribals, who constitute one third of Tripura’s four million populations.

Counting of votes of the by-elections would be held on August 26.



Related Posts

Leave a Reply