TVS Racing’s Jagan wins national 2-wheeler title

Views: 21

Chennai, Feb 21 (IANS) TVS Racing team swept the board as Jagan Kumar led a podium sweep in the Group B (Open) class on way to winning the title as the MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship which concluded at the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) in Sriperumbudur, near here, on Sunday.

Also annexing the National Championship titles in their respective categories were Mathana Kumar of Ten10 Racing (Group C, Open) and Kannan Karnan of Moto-Rev Yamaha (Group D, Novice) while in the Honda One-Make Championship, Sarath Kumar (CBR 250) and Aravind Balakrishnan (CBR 150) clinched the crowns.

The 26-year-old Jagan from Chennai, winner of the first race on Saturday that clinched him the championship, gave a repeat performance in the second outing on Sunday for a grand double with teammates K.Y. Ahmed and Kannan Subramani following home in that order. Incidentally, the three riders are neighbours in the Triplicane locality of the city.

ALSO READ:   India aim bright start against S.Africa in 1st T20I (Preview)

Jagan, the first Indian winner in the Asian Road Racing championship last year, rode a mature race as he bided his time, tucking in behind the front-runners for a few laps before bursting to the front and had none of other competitors in sight when he crossed the finish line.

He thus finished the 2015 championship that spilled over after postponement of the final round in December due to floods with six wins and a tally of 162 points ahead of teammate Harry Sylvester (114) and Ahamed (113), emphasising the dominance of TVS Racing.

It was Jagan’s fifth national title following his success in 2009 (125cc Novice), 2012 (165cc, Group B), 2013 and 2014 (Group C, Open).

“I am very happy to win the championship this year. I had a bad start to the season with a puncture and mechanical problems in the early rounds, but this weekend was a nice way to finish,” said Jagan.

ALSO READ:   Smith questions Rabada verdict

Mathana Kumar and Kannan Karnan also ended the season in dominating style by completing a double in their respective categories en route to winning the titles. While Kannan had to overcome an early challenge before sealing the double for five wins in the season, Mathana was in a league of his own and enjoyed an untroubled run to the finish for his sixth win.

In the Honda One-Make Championship, Kishoar V.S. won both the CBR 150 races but finished only third in the title race with 145 points, behind Aravind (177) and Sivanesan Sethu (156).

The CBR 250 title was won by Sarath (186) with a round to spare and he opted to skip the final round this weekend which saw Sumit Lucas Toppo of Pro Lap Racing and Dinesh Kumar (United Tech Torque Racing) share the honours by winning a race apiece on Sunday. Toppo, who crashed in the second race, finished second in the championship (146) ahead of Dinesh Kumar (112).

ALSO READ:   Stokes could miss Lord's Test against India

Chennai’s Rehana Reya topped in the Honda ladies race, the first of its kind in India, pipping pole-sitter Pooja Dabhi from Pune. Soundari A. from Chennai finished third in the four-lap race.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *