Two more states, five UTs to roll out intra-state e-way bill

Views: 63

New Delhi, May 24 (IANS) The central government on Thursday said that two more states — Maharashtra and Manipur — along with five Union Territories will roll out the intra-state e-way bills from Friday.

The Union Territories are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Lakshadweep.

According to a Finance Ministry statement, with the latest addition, the total number of states and UTs implementing e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods will rise to 27.

As on May 23, the system has been implemented in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, and Puducherry.

“E-way bills are getting generated successfully and till May 23, more than 5.3 crore e-way bills were successfully generated, including more than 1.6 crore e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods,” the statement said.

ALSO READ:   China to temporarily slash tariffs on US auto imports

Under the Goods and Services Tax regime, an e-way bill needs to be generated and carried for movement of all goods valued at over Rs 50,000.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *