Two new LS members take oath

Views: 77

New Delhi, Dec 12 (IANS) Two newly-elected Lok Sabha members took oath on Wednesday ahead of a brief adjournment of the House after the Congress and Telugu Desam Party raised various issues which the Speaker refused to entertain.

Soon after the House met, V.S. Ugrappa from Bellary and L.R. Shivarama Gowda from Mandya in Karnataka took the oath in Hindi.

Ugrappa from Congress and Gowda from Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) had defeated BJP candidates in the November bypolls.

Ugrappa defeated J. Shantha by a margin of 243,161 votes in Bellary (Reserved) Lok Sabha seat while Gowda defeated R. Siddaramaiah with a massive margin.

The House also paid tributes to 11 former members, including Madan Lal Khurana, N.D. Tiwari, C.K. Jafarsharif and Gurudas Kamat.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *