Vijayan government in Kerala to have 19 ministers

Views: 30

Thiruvananthapuram, May 22 (IANS) The new Kerala government led by Pinarayi Vijayan would have 19 members (including the chief minister) and its swearing-in will be held at the Central Stadium here at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, said Left Democratic Front convenor Vaikom Viswan.

Addressing reporters here on Sunday evening after a party meet, he said it has been decided to limit the cabinet to 19.

“The outgoing Oommen Chandy government had 21 (the maximum allowed) but we decided to keep it to 19,” said Viswan, adding that the Communist Party of India-Marxist will have 12 berths, the Communist Party of India 4 and three other LDF constituents – the Janata Dal-S, the Nationalist Congress Party and the Congress-S – would get one each.

ALSO READ:   Officer, three soldiers killed in Pakistan firing on LoC (Fourth Lead)

Three other parties – thee RSP-L, Kerala Congress-Pillai, and the CMP – who contested alongside the LDF and have a legislator each were not considered for ministerial berths as they were not regular member of the LDF.

The CPI-M will announce their team and the speaker of the house on Monday while the portfolios will be announced later, said Viswan.

The CPI-M-led LDF won the May 16 polls, winning 91 seats in the 140-member Kerala assembly.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *