West Bengal assembly polls in six phases: EC

Views: 24

New Delhi, March 4 (IANS) The Election Commission on Friday announced a six-phase polling for the 294-member West Bengal assembly.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said West Bengal will see balloting on seven dates despite a six-phase election: April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25 and 30 and May 5.

Zaidi said polling with be held for 49 seats in two rounds in the first phase – voting in 18 segments will be held on April 4, and for 31 seats on April 11.

As many as 56 seats will go to polls in the second round on April 17.

Voting will be held in 62 assembly constituencies in the third phase on April 21.

In the fourth phase, polling will be held in 49 segments on April 25.

ALSO READ:   Maharashtra bypolls: Officials ferrying EVMs in private car suspended

A total of 53 seats will go to polls in the fifth phase on April 30, and remaining 25 seats on May 5 in the last phase.

The counting will be taken up on May 19.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *