Windies call up Gayle, Sammy for World T20

Views: 25

Johannesburg, Jan. 30 (ANI): Darren Sammy has been named as the captain to lead the 15-man West Indies squad in the World Twenty20 tournament in India, which starts on March 8.

The West Indies are currently ranked number one in the T20 format and have retained 11 players of the 2012 World cup winning squad in Sri Lanka.

T20 specialists Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo earned a recall along with suspended off-spinner Sunil Narine, who played a vital role in 2012 World Cup final by grabbing three wickets, Sport24 reported.

Narine is currently undergoing remedial work on his suspect bowling action after being reported in November.

West Indies are placed in Group 1 of the Super 10 stage and will play alongside England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and one of the qualifiers from the first round.

ALSO READ:   OIC supports Morocco's bid to host 2026 World Cup

The T20 World Cup squad is as follows:

Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *