Canindia News

All six Rajya Sabha candidates from TN elected unopposed

Chennai, March 18 (IANS) Two AIADMK, one Tamil Maanila Congress and three DMK candidates were declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu on Wednesday.

According to Election Officer and Legislative Assembly Secretary K.Srinivasan, all the six candidates whose nomination papers were found valid, have been elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed.

The six candidates are: M.Thambidurai, K.P.Munusamy (both AIADMK), G.K. Vasan of Tamil Maanila Congress, and N.R. Elango, Trichy N. Siva and Anthiyur Selvaraj (all DMK).

Vasan is being supported by the ruling AIADMK.

Six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu — Sasikala Pushpa, Vijila Sathyanath, S. Muthukaruppan, A.K. Selvaraj (all from AIADMK), Tiruchy Siva of DMK and T.K. Rangarajan of CPI-M — will retire on April 2.

Presently, the AIADMK has 10 members in the Rajya Sabha and the DMK five. Once the new members go to the Upper House, the AIADMK strength will fall to eight whereas DMK’s strength will increase to seven.




Voting begins in Bihar’s 8 Lok Sabha seats

Lok Sabha passes Direct Tax ‘Vivad se Vishwas’ bill

Bengal sends 6 Muslims to Lok Sabha, 2 less from 2014

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More