Clearer window in January for BBL; Border-Gavaskar series on par with Ashes in new FTP cycle

In the Future Tours Programme (FTP) for 2023-27 cycle, released by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the Border-Gavaskar Trophy between Australia and India has been placed on par with the Ashes in terms of five-match series.

Overall, in the FTP, Australia’s men’s team will play 49 Tests, 52 ODIs and 63 T20Is, as well as matches at ICC showpiece events like ODI and T20 World Cups as well as Champions Trophy, between now and the end of the next playing cycle.

“We are delighted to have secured extensive high-quality content across both the women’s and men’s programs in schedules that encompass many of our key priorities for Australian Cricket. The increase to a reciprocal five Test Border-Gavaskar series is a significant milestone and will greatly enhance the enduring rivalry and respect that exists between the Australian and Indian men’s teams,” said Peter Roach, Cricket Australia’s Head of Cricket Operations and Scheduling.

But in the men’s FTP, which begins in April 2023 and concludes in March 2027, a clearer window in January for the Big Bash League (BBL), barring two-match Test series scheduled at home against West Indies in 2024 and Sri Lanka in 2025, is good news for Australia.

This comes at a time when the UAE’s ILT20 League and South Africa’s new T20 league are fighting for space in the same time as BBL. Moreover, in the new FTP, Australia will play two Tests against Bangladesh in March 2027, for the first time after 2003 matches in Darwin and Cairns.

“Importantly, most of our home content will remain in our traditional window for both men and women, including a largely uninterrupted international window for the WBBL and greater flexibility for Australian players to participate in the BBL.”

“The sustained success of our men’s and women’s teams has played a key role throughout negotiations of both FTPs and has ultimately secured Australian cricket fans consistently high-quality international cricket over the coming years,” stated Roach.

Other big highlights include maintaining the traditional Australian home window from November to February, Men’s matches (across all three formats) against both England and India scheduled every playing year between now and 2026-27 and a reciprocal white-ball series against Pakistan.

“The historic tour of Pakistan earlier this year was a significant moment in Australian cricket, and we are committed to returning in the future through reciprocal white-ball series included in the men’s FTP.”

“We are fortunate to enjoy excellent relationships with all ICC Members and thank them for the substantial amount of work and collaboration undertaken to produce collectively agreed upon schedules,” added Roach.

In the 2023-25 WTC cycle, Australia will play Pakistan, West Indies and India at home while facing off against England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in away matches. In the 2025-27 WTC, Australia will be up against England, New Zealand and Bangladesh at home, while going on trips to the West Indies, South Africa and India.

“We are excited to have confirmed both the women’s and men’s FTPs which include great series for our fans, both at home and abroad. We have seen from recent tours to Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Ireland, the power and popularity of bilateral international cricket to bring people together and grow the global game.”




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here