Doug Ford wins Ontario election, to form a majority government

Doug Ford has been re-elected as premier of Ontario with a majority government. The Ontario NDP will be the Official Opposition.

This news as no surprise as the Ford-led Ontario Progressive Conservatives (PC) led in most polls throughout the election campaign.

As of 10:40 pm, PC party had won 82 of Ontario’s 124 seats well over the 63 needed to give them a majority government. The Ontario NDP won 29 seats while the Liberals got 8 giving them official party status in the province, and the Green Party has got just one.

While PC leader Doug Ford and NDP leader Andrea Horwath were re-elected in Etobicoke North and Hamilton Centre respectively, Liberal leader Steven Del Duca lost his seat in Vaughan-Woodbridge. Green Party leader Mike Schreiner held onto his seat in Guelph.

Del Duca and Horwath have both announced that they will be stepping down from their leadership positions.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here