Canindia News

Euro T20 Slam draft to take place in London on July 19

Mumbai, July 5 (IANS) The players’ draft for the inaugural Euro T20 Slam will take place in London on July 19. Around 700 players from 22 nations have registered for the draft through the official website of the Euro T20 Slam from May 27-June 30.

The names of the players from Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands will be submitted by their respective cricket boards. Each icon player will have $135,000 in his kitty while each marquee player will fetch $115,000. The league will get underway from August 30 in Amsterdam and go on till September 22.

Each of the six franchises can pick a minimum of five and a maximum of seven overseas players from the price category of $80,000, $65,000, $50,000, $35,000 and $20,000. Local players from Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands will be available at a price purse of $35,000, $20,000 and $10,000. A franchise will have to pick at least nine local players.

As per the league guidelines, each team will have to play at least six local players and a maximum of five overseas players in the playing eleven.

All the six franchises — Amsterdam Knights, Rotterdam Rhinos, Edinburgh Rocks, Glasgow Giants, Dublin Chiefs and Belfast Titans — will be given an opportunity to decide their icon and marquee players beforehand.

The icon players are Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Shane Watson and Rashid Khan while the marquee players are Dale Steyn, J.P. Duminy, Imran Tahir, Chris Lynn, Babar Azam and Luke Ronchi.

Some of the top players who have registered for the draft are Ben Cutting, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Mohammad Amir, Fakhar Zaman, Shaheen Afridi, Colin Ingram and Tymal Mills. The list of all the registered players will be released soon.

“We are thrilled to receive several entries for the draft from across the globe. Having seen the interest of so many players in the inaugural Euro T20 Slam, I can already feel that the league will be a grand success,” Prashant Mishra of Woods Entertainment, promoter of the league, said.

“We are also looking forward to welcoming all the franchise owners, our board members of the advisory committee and some of the key players at the draft,” he added.

The draft will be broadcast live on ET20s social media platforms from 10 a.m. (GMT) and 2:30 p.m. (IST).




London bridge attacker given quiet burial in Pakistan

Kareena, Karisma, Saif party in London

Narayana Murthy awarded honorary doctorate by London varsity

Leave a Comment