India name squad for ISSF World Championships, veteran Vijay Kumar finds a place

The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) on Friday announced a 48-member Indian rifle and pistol squad for the upcoming International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Championship, scheduled from October 12-25, in Cairo, Egypt.

A 24-member Shotgun squad was already announced earlier for the Shotgun World Championships beginning in Osijek, Croatia, on September 19, 2022.

The team for the World Championship is loaded with first-timers while Olympic silver medallist Vijay Kumar and silver medallist from the previous world championships, Anjum Moudgil will bring in the weight of experience.

The experienced campaigners in the squad include the likes of Olympians Manu Bhaker, Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar and Elavenil Valarivan, besides Divyansh Singh Panwar, who has qualified in the junior section.

Shiva Narwal, who will be leading the Indian trio in the men’s 10m air pistol, is not yet 17 and will be in his first Worlds. Others like Swapnil Suresh Kusale, who is among the country’s top rifle shooting exponents, particularly in small-bore, for some time now, will also be featuring in his first World Championships.

Swapnil was in form at the Baku ISSF World Cup stage earlier this year, where he won a first individual world cup stage gold, a silver in men’s 3P as well as a mixed 3P gold.

On the other hand, Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar will also be competing in his first world championship and his rise in men’s rifle 3 positions in the last couple of years, has been nothing short of phenomenal.

Notably, ISSF World Championships are considered by the global Shooting Sports community as the ultimate prize in the sport.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here