England women won the toss and elected to bat in the one-off Test against India here on Wednesday. India, who are playing their first Test in almost seven years, are fielding five debutants.

Batter Shafali Verma, all-rounder Deepti Sharma, pace bowler Pooja Vastrakar and wicketkeeper Taniya Bhatia are playing their first Test.

Off-spinner Sneh Rana, who is also making her Test debut, is returning to India fold after five years.

For England, all-rounder Sophia Dunkley makes debut. She becomes the first black player to represent England women’s Test team.

Playing XIs

India women: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Punam Raut, Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Shikha Pandey.

England women: Lauren Winfield Hill, Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight (captain), Natalie Sciver, Amy Ellen Jones (wciektkeeper), Sophia Dunkley, Georgia Elwiss, Katherine Brunt, Anya Shrubsole, Sophie Ecclestone, Kate Cross.



Previous articleYogi govt breaks its own record in wheat procurement
Next articleApple Music Spatial Audio coming to India soon