IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans win toss, elect to bat first against Lucknow Super Giants

Gujarat Titans won the toss and elected to bat first against Lucknow Super Giants in a top-of-the-table clash in IPL 2022 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium here on Tuesday.

Gujarat Titans skipper Hardik Pandya said for a change they want to put up a score and try and defend it.

Gujarat have lost their last two matches but Pandya attributed it to the law of averages. “We have won five games where we should’ve lost, so the odds caught up. We told the boys that the tournament is far from over and we have many important matches,” he said.

Gujarat have made three changes to their playing XI, all tactical changes, Pandya said. Lockie Ferguson, Sai Sudharshan, and Pradeep Sangwan are out with Matthew Wade, debutant Sai Kishore and Yash Dayal coming in their place.

Lucknow skipper K.L Rahul said he wanted to bowl as he was not sure how the pitch will play later in the evening.

“Toss works well for us. I didn’t know the team batting first is doing well. But batting first can be tricky — probably gives our bowlers the best chance to bowl on this pitch,” said Rahul.

LSG made one change in their playing XI, U.P spinner Karan Sharma coming in for Ravi Bishnoi.

Playing XIs:

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammad Shami.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here